Tags

,

One year ago today we left Britain and emigrated to Canada.

I’ve been a bit nostalgic today, turning over memories from this past twelve month. Anxiety, excitement, panic, pressure, gratitude; such a whirlwin.

This year has seen us change continent, live with in-laws, find employment, buy a house, loose a baby, cry, laugh and everything in between. Joy has sat, crawled, walked and jumped for the first time. Bella has met new cousins, missed others who are far away, and is still coming to grips with the fact that we are here now, and can’t easily visit the people and places she left behind.

I tried to find our advent wreath today. I was certain it was downstairs in the Christmas box but couldn’t find it. So many things have been shuffled around that I don’t know for certain that it came over with us at all. I keep thinking of things like this – are they here somewhere unopened? Was a box forgotten by the shipping company (we never counted)? Or did we leave them behind?

Things are replaceable. This whole adventure has taught us much about what is necessary and the excess we can more happily live without. It is a bit unsettling though.

I look forward to the coming year and all it will bring. As our family settles and becomes more at home here I am certain the reasons for our move will become more apparent. I wonder at my little family and how much it has changed in a few short years. What adventures will we get up to in this next one?

